The Black Sheep – Politics

Releasedatum:
14.02.2014

Four women. Lots of power. Complete sympathy.

The second LP „Politics“ reveals neatly and fancily – really good pop-rock doesn’t necessarily have to come from Sweden and they also really don’t have to be afraid of any male competition..

„Politics“ continues where the multifaceted debut album ended and even ups the ante.

The Black Sheep recorded their eleven emotional songs in the fantastic Level3-Studio in Essen with Dominic Paraskevopoulos, who has already produced numerous band like Caliban or Kreator and who could create a guitar wall with guitarist Johanna, which doesn’t seem false at all.

Songs like „Leaders of the World“ or „Do or Die“ come along with the usual power of sound like those of the rock hit „You can’t push me“ from their first album – spiced with the adult complexity of the arrangements and it will draw on the listener with attention to detail.

On the other hand while listening to the personal acoustic ballad „Fireless“ you could hear a pin drop. And even the album’s only cover song „Motorcyle Emptiness“ from 1992 by the Manic Street Preachers fits in perfectly in the overall picture of the band whose members were partially still bottle-fed at that time.

But especially the song „Politics“, which the album owes his name to, bristles with emotionality and positive melancholy thanks to its acoustically touched style and an impressive arrangement of strings.

So why say another word about it? If you hear it, you won’t come around wanting to have the new disc in your hands. Missing it is your own fault!

The Black Sheep – Politics

Releasedatum:
14.02.2014

Vier Frauen. Viel Power. Volle Sympathie.

Der zweite Longplayer „Politics“ macht eingängig und extravagant deutlich – wirklich guter Pop-Rock kommt nicht zwangsweise aus Schweden und auch vor männlicher Konkurrenz brauchen sie sich wirklich nicht zu scheuen.

„Politics“ setzt genau da an, wo das facettenreiche Debut-Album aufgehört hat und legt noch eine ordentliche Schippe oben drauf!

The Black Sheep nahmen ihre elf emotionsgeladenen Songs im fantastischen Level3-Studio in Essen mit Dominic Paraskevopoulos auf, welcher schon zahlreiche Bands der härteren Gangart wie Caliban oder Kreator produzierte, und so auch mit Gitarristin Johanna eine Gitarren-Wand erzeugen konnte, die zu keiner Zeit aufgesetzt wirkt.

Songs wie „Leaders Of The World“ oder „Do Or Die“ kommen mit der gewohnten Sound-Wucht, wie die des Rock-Krachers „You can´t push me“ vom Vorgänger-Album daher – gewürzt mit erwachsenerer Vielschichtigkeit der Arrangements und werden den detailverliebten Zuhörer zu genüge beanspruchen.

Auf der anderen Seite kann man bei der intimen Akustik-Ballade „Fireless“ eine Stecknadel fallen hören. Aber auch der einzige Coversong des Albums „Motorcycle Emptiness“ aus dem Jahre 1992 von den Manic Street Preachers fügt sich hervorragend in das Gesamtbild jener Band, welche zu jener Zeit teilweise noch aus der Flasche getrunken hat.

Aber vor allem der Song „Politics“, dem das Album seinen Namen verdankt, strotzt mit seinem akustisch angehauchten Gewand und einem imposanten Streicher-Arrangement vor Emotionalität und positiver Melancholie.

Warum also weiter Worte darüber verlieren? Wer es hört, kommt nicht umher die neue Scheibe in den Händen halten zu wollen. Wer es verpasst, ist selber schuld!